Eight Days to Go: Review and Rest

Since March, I’ve been studying away for the CPLP Knowledge Exam, which is the second of three criteria that must be met to earn the Certified Professional in Learning and Performance (CPLP) designation from the ATD Institute.

Now I’m only eight days from the big day.  I’m confident, but nervous.  Probably the right way to feel right about now.

The cause of the nervousness is obvious.  I realized a few weeks ago that not only is this the first high-stakes test I’ve taken in a very long time, but it is a key component of the re-crafting of my career path that I’ve been working on for a year now.  This is important to me, so of course I’m a bit nervous about it. The corpus of knowledge covered by 150 questions is huge.  Concern that gaps in my studies might be the target of those 150 questions have crept into my dreams and is fueling my last week effort (see my study plan below) to find and fill those gaps.

But I’m also confident.  My scores on practice exams and quizzes have been steadily trending up through my study period.  I feel my study strategy has been sound.  ATD supplied materials and content, advice from current CPLP’s on study and test strategies, the ATD Rocky Mountain Chapter Virtual Study group, the LinkedIn CPLP groups, and Owls Ledge’s CPLPCoach.com site have provided the resources and support I’ve needed.

It doesn’t hurt that the first member of the virtual study group to take the Knowledge Exam passed earlier this week!

In the spirit of working out loud, here is my study plan leading up to the test next week:

Knowledge exam last 10 days study plan

Author: Dave Lee

AGILE LEARNING LEADER Bridging the gap between traditional and emerging methodologies to drive efficiency, performance, and business results while transforming organizational learning.

2 thoughts on “Eight Days to Go: Review and Rest”

Leave a comment